Vitalize Your Writing with Action

Vitalize Your Writing with Action

INSTRUCTOR: K.C. Sinclair
TIME: Two Thursdays, August 9th, August 15th, 6-9 PM
PRICE: Early-Bird until Saturday, August 4th: $80 for members, $95 for non-members; After Saturday, August 4th: $95 for members, $110 for non-members
LOCATION: Writespace at 2000 Edwards #212, Houston, TX, 77007
LEVEL:

All Levels
CAP: Limited to 15 Writers

Are you an ace at writing description, dialogue, setting, but fall apart when something actually happens in your fiction? Do you avoid writing scenes with fights, sex, or significant events or have you been accused of writing characters who suffer from that most dangerous of literary maladies--the “passive protagonist syndrome”? In this two-part workshop, we will focus on tuning up our action sequences and creating lifelike, believable action that heightens tension yet stays true to our characters’ motivations and personalities. In the first session, we will look at examples of strong action scenes and study how they block characters, add tension, and enhance the reading experience. When we meet for session two, we will examine our own writing and use exercises to enhance our scenes with a lot of great action. Get ready to learn to look at scenes in a fresh new way that will vitalize your writing!

▼ Show More

2000 Edwards Street Studio 212, 77007
Houston
09 August , Thursday 18:00

More Events Nearby

 04 August , Saturday
 BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston
 27 July , Friday
 Revention Music Center, Houston
 26 July , Thursday
 Bar Bleu, Houston
 19 July , Thursday
 Hobby Center, Houston
 26 July , Thursday
 Revention Music Center, Houston
 19 July , Thursday
 Spire Houston, Houston
 22 July , Sunday
 Hobby Center, Houston
 20 July , Friday
 Hobby Center, Houston
 10 August , Friday
 Neil's Bahr, Houston
 21 July , Saturday
 Texian Army, Houston
 27 July , Friday
 The Pub Galleria, Houston
 28 July , Saturday
 Houston Camera Exchange, Houston
 25 July , Wednesday
 Lucky's Lodge, Houston
 21 July , Saturday
 , Houston
 26 July , Thursday
 Revention Music Center, Houston
 28 July , Saturday
 BFE Rock Club, Houston
 06 August , Monday
 The Art Cellar of Houston, Houston
 09 August , Thursday
 Writespace, Houston
 21 July , Saturday
 Ecclesia Houston, Houston
 21 July , Saturday
 Nurture Soul Therapeutics, Houston
 07 August , Tuesday
 Writespace, Houston
 13 August , Monday
 Mireaux Management Solutions, Houston
 30 July , Monday
 Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA), Houston
 11 August , Saturday
 Fit Factor, Houston
 28 July , Saturday
 Texas Art Asylum, Houston
 20 July , Friday
 The Westin Houston, Memorial City, Houston
 04 August , Saturday
 BFE Rock Club, Houston
 01 August , Wednesday
 The Goddard School, Houston