The Black Stuff (GM Fringe)

The Black Stuff (GM Fringe)

Rubber - a miraculous substance! But until Charles Goodyear came along in the 1830s, it was sticky and useless. In a race against his rivals and battling incredible odds, Charles turned natural rubber into a product that revolutionised industries around the world. But it took everything he had. Meanwhile,

his wife Clarissa faced the age-old struggle of women in this patriarchal society - the fight to have her voice heard.

Through theatre, art, humour, and song, “The Black Stuff” tells the dark true story of how a bankrupt button-maker became one of the most important inventors of all time – and the terrible price he and his family paid for it. How much would you sacrifice if you knew it would change the world?

“Wonderful...I didn’t expect it to be quite so comical and enjoyable” - Rony Robinson, BBC Radio Sheffield
“The music is really strong and the melodies linger in the mind” - Audience feedback

Lioness Theatre is proud to present a special preview performance of their debut show - written, directed, and composed by women, and performed by a diverse cast of Northern performers. The evening will also include an exhibition of art inspired by the story, and displays about the fascinating true history that the play is based on.

Tickets are £10 / £8 concessions, and will go on sale from 1st May at www.greatermanchesterfringe.co.uk. Recommended age: 12+.

Writer & composer: Holl Morrell
Director & dramaturg: Liz Kearney
Performers: Alex Wilson, Mo Louie, Andy Pilkington
Art by Helen Hardman

▼ Show More

, M2 1WL
Manchester
13 July , Friday 20:30

More Events Nearby

 27 July , Friday
 Zombie Shack, Manchester
 18 August , Saturday
 Heaton Park, Manchester
 11 August , Saturday
 O2 Ritz Manchester, Manchester
 06 August , Monday
 Rebellion Manchester, Manchester
 18 August , Saturday
 Heaton Park, Manchester
 27 July , Friday
 Richmond Tea Rooms, Manchester
 18 August , Saturday
 Bridgewater School, Manchester
 08 August , Wednesday
 The John Rylands Library, Manchester
 14 August , Tuesday
 The Circus House Manchester CIC, Manchester
 25 July , Wednesday
 The John Rylands Library, Manchester
 09 August , Thursday
 The John Rylands Library, Manchester
 04 August , Saturday
 Clay Studio Manchester, Manchester
 01 August , Wednesday
 The John Rylands Library, Manchester
 21 August , Tuesday
 PureGym Manchester Eccles, Manchester
 15 August , Wednesday
 The John Rylands Library, Manchester