The Animal World of the Ancient Near East

The Animal World of the Ancient Near East

Humans were not the only creatures who inhabited antiquity: the world of the ancient Near East was shared with animals, wild and domesticated, birds, fish and insects. The ancients exploited animals, hunted them, feared them, worshipped them, held them in affection, wrote and sang about them, investigated

them and sacrificed them. This fascinating and stimulating course taught by Professor Lloyd Llewellyn-Jones aims to show the richness of human-animal interaction in antiquity, adopting a cross-cultural perspective which brings together ancient sources from the most significant Near Eastern cultures: Mesopotamia, the Levant, Egypt, and Persia. Not only were different animal species indigenous to different places – the crocodile and ibis in Egypt, the cheetah and ibex in Iran, and the camel and pheasant in Mesopotamia – but the cultural value attached to particular animals also differed. This course will highlight the significance of animals in ancient cultures, and the consuming interest in the animal world displayed by ancient writers and artists.

Lloyd is co-author of the 2017 book The Culture of Animals in Antiquity. This course will include sessions taught in The British Museum and UCL’s Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology, including special access to objects.

▼ Show More

University College London, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
London
16 July , Monday 11:00

More Events Nearby

 24 November , Saturday
 O2 Forum Kentish Town, London
 15 November , Thursday
 Village Underground, London
 05 December , Wednesday
 Electric Ballroom, London
 30 November , Friday
 The Underworld Camden, London
 27 November , Tuesday
 Scala, London
 07 December , Friday
 Lock 17 & Dingwalls, London
 23 November , Friday
 Union Chapel, London
 29 November , Thursday
 The Underworld Camden, London
 24 November , Saturday
 Royal Festival Hall, London
 26 November , Monday
 London One Radio, London
 21 November , Wednesday
 Greenwich Market, London
 05 December , Wednesday
 The Wednesday Club, London
 30 November , Friday
 The Taproom, London
 29 November , Thursday
 Union Chapel, London
 25 November , Sunday
 Tranquility Pilates Centre, London
 12 December , Wednesday
 The Wednesday Club, London
 14 November , Wednesday
 The Wednesday Club, London
 04 December , Tuesday
 Royal Ocean Racing Club, London
 30 November , Friday
 O2 Forum Kentish Town, London
 25 November , Sunday
 The Goodlife Centre, London
 24 November , Saturday
 Slimelight (Official), London
 03 December , Monday
 Magical Baby Moments, London
 12 December , Wednesday
 Scala, London
 14 November , Wednesday
 Royal Society of Chemistry, London
 20 November , Tuesday
 London, London
 08 December , Saturday
 SHINBOKU, London
 18 November , Sunday
 Bishopsgate Institute, London
 19 November , Monday
 Green Note, London
 24 November , Saturday
 O2 Academy Islington, London
 22 November , Thursday
 London Transport Museum, London
 18 November , Sunday
 Bridge Theatre, London
 09 December , Sunday
 O2 Academy Islington, London
 16 November , Friday
 Whittington Hospital, London
 15 November , Thursday
 DRINK, SHOP & DO, London