Spinifex Gum at Adelaide Festival

Spinifex Gum at Adelaide Festival

In 2015 Felix Riebl of The Cat Empire fame took up residence in the Pilbara to soak himself in the contemporary stories of the Yindjibarndi community. Out of it came Spinifex Gum - an album, a live performance and a shared passion to ignite change.

At the heart of the production is Marliya - an ensemble

of Aboriginal and Torres Strait teenage singers from Gondwana Choirs, who perform the songs with Felix Riebl and guest artists Ollie McGill, Briggs and Emma Donovan.

Powerful in content and style, the songs blend the lush choral vocals of Marliya with hard-hitting urban rhythms and lyrics that reveal, with uncompromising clarity, many of the painful injustices facing Indigenous Australians. The exuberant energy of these young performers lifts our spirits in the face of very tough issues. Uninhibited, they sway and groove to Riebl’s beats but their superb choral discipline and lush sound ensure the lyrics hit their mark directly in our hearts.

A unique, topical and inspiring all-Australian gig.

▼ Show More

58 Grote St, Adelaide, 5000
Adelaide
13 March , Tuesday 20:00

More Events Nearby

 20 July , Friday
 AVCon: Adelaide's Anime & Video Games Festival, Adelaide
 22 July , Sunday
 West Beach Surf-Lifesaving Club, Adelaide
 30 June , Saturday
 Clovercrest Hotel, Adelaide
 21 July , Saturday
 Market To Market, Adelaide
 13 July , Friday
 Priceline Stadium, Adelaide
 07 July , Saturday
 QuickSteps Dance / Club / Studio, Adelaide
 06 July , Friday
 GU Film House Adelaide, Adelaide
 25 June , Monday
 SA Sports Medicine Association, Adelaide
 19 July , Thursday
 The Playford Adelaide, MGallery by Sofitel, Adelaide
 13 July , Friday
 Arkaba Hotel, Adelaide
 28 June , Thursday
 Arkaba Hotel, Adelaide
 06 July , Friday
 Hilton RSL, Adelaide
 05 July , Thursday
 Marion Cultural Centre, Adelaide
 29 June , Friday
 Ingle Farm Soccer Club, Adelaide
 30 June , Saturday
 Dunstan Playhouse, Adelaide
 19 July , Thursday
 Phuket Training and Wellness, Adelaide
 14 July , Saturday
 Marion Cultural Centre, Adelaide
 01 July , Sunday
 Adelaide Convention Centre, Adelaide
 29 June , Friday
 Wallis Cinemas Mitcham, Adelaide
 30 June , Saturday
 WOTSO WorkSpace Adelaide, Adelaide
 30 June , Saturday
 TheClub, Adelaide
 15 July , Sunday
 Popeye and Paddle Boats on the Torrens River, Adelaide
 01 July , Sunday
 WOTSO WorkSpace Adelaide, Adelaide
 29 June , Friday
 Pepper Street Arts Centre, Adelaide
 29 June , Friday
 Dunstan Playhouse, Adelaide
 11 July , Wednesday
 Marion Cultural Centre, Adelaide
 01 July , Sunday
 Popeye and Paddle Boats on the Torrens River, Adelaide
 09 July , Monday
 Total Look, Adelaide
 27 June , Wednesday
 Carrick Hill, Adelaide
 01 July , Sunday
 WOTSO WorkSpace Adelaide, Adelaide
 07 July , Saturday
 Nexus Arts Venue, Adelaide
 30 June , Saturday
 Quality Catering, Adelaide
 21 July , Saturday
 , Adelaide
 07 July , Saturday
 Power Living Adelaide Yoga, Adelaide
 13 July , Friday
 Burnside Community Centre & Ballroom, Adelaide
 19 July , Thursday
 Marion Cultural Centre, Adelaide