Skills Series: Writing as Resistance

Skills Series: Writing as Resistance

This workshop is designed to offer activist-minded students the necessary skill-set of writing tools and resources to address a popular audience and to hone your writing skills towards creating effective change in the world. The two-hour workshop offers a deep-dive introduction to writing journalism

for a popular audience and navigating the world of free-lance journalism.

Lunch will be provided. Please RSVP to studentlife@hds.harvard.edu

Brief Bio: Kythe Heller is an award-winning poet, essayist, performer, filmmaker, and doctoral student in the Committee on the Study of Religion at Harvard University, with a secondary field in Critical Media Practice. She is author of the poetry collection Immolation; recent poetry and critical essays appear in the Harvard Divinity Bulletin, Tricycle: The Buddhist Review, The American Poetry Review, and the Cambridge University Press volume White Light. She has received grants and fellowships from the Mellon Foundation, Harvard University, The MacDowell Colony, Vermont Studio Center, Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, Squaw Valley Community of Writers, and the Laurels Foundation/ PSU. Recent film and multimedia work has been presented at the Harvard Film Studies Center, SEEDS Festival/ Earthdance, Sonoma State University, WAXworks (NYC), BAX (NYC), Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, and in various collaborations and street performances in NYC and elsewhere. Her creative and scholarly research are concerned with visionary thought and practice across the arts, social and environmental justice, and technology; mysticism; and traditional practices of wisdom cultivation in world religions.

▼ Show More

45 Francis Ave, 02138
Cambridge
19 April , Thursday 12:00

More Events Nearby

 29 May , Tuesday
 Middle East Restaurant and Nightclub, Cambridge
 06 June , Wednesday
 The Sinclair, Cambridge
 02 June , Saturday
 The Sinclair, Cambridge
 10 June , Sunday
 Sonia, Cambridge
 03 June , Sunday
 CambridgeSide, Cambridge
 22 June , Friday
 Tri-State Trek, Cambridge
 12 June , Tuesday
 The Sinclair, Cambridge
 02 June , Saturday
 Middle East Restaurant and Nightclub, Cambridge
 15 June , Friday
 The Sinclair, Cambridge
 09 June , Saturday
 Sonia, Cambridge
 16 June , Saturday
 Middle East Restaurant and Nightclub, Cambridge
 30 May , Wednesday
 Sonia, Cambridge
 14 June , Thursday
 Middle East Restaurant and Nightclub, Cambridge
 15 June , Friday
 Middle East Restaurant and Nightclub, Cambridge
 29 May , Tuesday
 The Sinclair, Cambridge
 11 June , Monday
 The Sinclair, Cambridge
 05 June , Tuesday
 The Sinclair, Cambridge
 09 June , Saturday
 Middle East Restaurant and Nightclub, Cambridge
 20 June , Wednesday
 Middle East Restaurant and Nightclub, Cambridge
 02 June , Saturday
 Samberg Conference Center - MIT, Cambridge
 16 June , Saturday
 Moves & Vibes Dance and Entertainment Co, Cambridge
 21 June , Thursday
 Sonia, Cambridge
 16 June , Saturday
 Middle East Restaurant and Nightclub, Cambridge
 30 May , Wednesday
 Boston Poetry Slam, Cambridge
 06 June , Wednesday
 Club Passim, Cambridge
 10 June , Sunday
 Middle East Restaurant and Nightclub, Cambridge
 20 June , Wednesday
 Sonia, Cambridge
 21 June , Thursday
 The Sinclair, Cambridge
 09 June , Saturday
 Middle East Restaurant and Nightclub, Cambridge
 03 June , Sunday
 Jetpac Inc, Cambridge
 08 June , Friday
 The Sinclair, Cambridge
 27 May , Sunday
 Landmark's Kendall Square Cinema, Cambridge
 16 June , Saturday
 Sonia, Cambridge