Sheesham Lotus & Son + George Welch & Christine Jeans

Sheesham Lotus & Son + George Welch & Christine Jeans

Famously referred to as “Mississippi Sheiks meet Doctor Seuss as curated by HG Wells” Sheesham and Lotus & Son have created a sonic and visual presentation of old time high stepping music which is completely unique. Fiddle, Banjo and Sousaphone make up the core of this outfit, complimented by Contrabass-Harmoniphonium,

Harmonicas, and Jaw Harps, Bones and BuckDance, with great sibling harmonies.
The show has its roots in the Vaudeville and Juke Joints of the American South, where Mississippi Riverfolk meet the Appalachian Highlanders; the blues meet he fiddle tunes with a rollicking and full flamed conviviality one might consider outrageous!
Sheesham and Lotus & ‘Son have established themselves as an act that has it all, combining astounding musicianship and fearless grooves with a show that is dynamic and entertaining.

“A delicious brew and all in all a lovely, inspiring and slightly manic treat” –fRoots
“Catch them if you can” – Cerys Matthews, BBC Radio 6
“The first Americana band in a long time that’s really made me sit up and pay attention”– Mary Ann Kennedy, BBC Radio 3

▼ Show More


Newcastle upon Tyne
26 April , Thursday 20:00

More Events Nearby

 30 November , Friday
 , Newcastle upon Tyne
 08 December , Saturday
 O2 Academy Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne
 02 December , Sunday
 Boiler Shop, Newcastle upon Tyne
 01 December , Saturday
 Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle upon Tyne
 23 November , Friday
 O2 Academy Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne
 19 December , Wednesday
 Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle upon Tyne
 25 November , Sunday
 Tyne Theatre & Opera House, Newcastle upon Tyne
 23 November , Friday
 O2 Academy Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne
 15 December , Saturday
 Riverside Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne
 27 November , Tuesday
 Tyne Theatre & Opera House, Newcastle upon Tyne
 17 December , Monday
 Brunton Park Toddler Group & Brunton Babies, Newcastle upon Tyne
 10 December , Monday
 Brunton Park Toddler Group & Brunton Babies, Newcastle upon Tyne
 24 November , Saturday
 O2 Academy Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne
 12 December , Wednesday
 Cobalt Studios Ltd, Newcastle upon Tyne
 30 November , Friday
 Newcastle Cathedral, Newcastle upon Tyne