Parallel Lines Presents Gwenno

Parallel Lines Presents Gwenno

Welsh singer Gwenno will be playing at Islington Assembly Hall on the 18th October!

What if your mother tongue is an ancient language of a land that you’ve never lived in, whose native speakers have only recently broken 200 years’ silence? What if the only place it has ever existed over the years is

hundreds of miles away, in your home and your heart?

Le Kov (The Place of Memory)is the second solo album by Welsh singer-songwriter and musician, Gwenno Saunders. Created alongside long-term collaborator and producer, Rhys Edwards, with additional drum engineering by Gorwel Owen (Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci, Super Furry Animals) and mixing and additional programming by David Wrench, it is an exploration of the individual and collective subconcious & the ‘dream state’, the myths and drolls1of Cornwall, and the history of the survival of our lesser known Brythonic2language. It’s also one of 2018’s most beautiful and stirring records, swirling with ancient myths and urgent modern themes.

▼ Show More

Upper Street, Islington, N1 2UD
London
18 October , Thursday 19:30

More Events Nearby

 27 October , Saturday
 Alexandra Palace, London
 26 October , Friday
 KOKO London, London
 20 October , Saturday
 Maloca, London
 15 November , Thursday
 Village Underground, London
 10 November , Saturday
 O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, London
 26 October , Friday
 London Palladium, London
 27 October , Saturday
 Weirdsville, London
 05 November , Monday
 University of East London, London
 21 October , Sunday
 The South East Entertainment Awards, London
 04 November , Sunday
 O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, London
 28 October , Sunday
 London Palladium, London
 01 November , Thursday
 O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, London
 09 November , Friday
 Glebe Primary School, London
 03 November , Saturday
 St. Marylebone Parish Church, London
 07 November , Wednesday
 The Wednesday Club, London
 07 November , Wednesday
 Greenwich Skeptics in the Pub, London
 27 October , Saturday
 Hideaway Streatham, London
 25 October , Thursday
 O2 Forum Kentish Town, London
 27 October , Saturday
 Welsh Harp Waltham Abbey, London
 28 October , Sunday
 Windmill Brixton, London
 14 November , Wednesday
 The Wednesday Club, London
 01 November , Thursday
 Wonders of London, London
 30 October , Tuesday
 The Mountain Company, London
 23 October , Tuesday
 Society of Antiquaries of London, London
 11 November , Sunday
 Bishopsgate Institute, London
 27 October , Saturday
 Falconwood Community Centre, London
 31 October , Wednesday
 London Palladium, London
 31 October , Wednesday
 Queen Elizabeth Hall, London
 20 October , Saturday
 London Victoria Station, London
 04 November , Sunday
 Greenwich Park, London
 20 October , Saturday
 O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, London
 25 October , Thursday
 Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland, London
 06 November , Tuesday
 London Palladium, London
 27 October , Saturday
 Descendants, London
 06 November , Tuesday
 Magical Baby Moments, London
 26 October , Friday
 Hideaway Streatham, London