Lessons in Seeing

Lessons in Seeing

Lessons in Seeing is the story of Sibhatleab Mebratu, an aging math teacher who spent 25 years as a political prisoner and refugee in Ethiopia. During his first week in Houston, Sibhatleab visits Salem Market, a store that caters to Houston’s diverse African communities. The film depicts his journey

in a new country, his struggles with eviction, and his love of math in the summer before a contentious election amid growing anti-refugee rhetoric.

▼ Show More

Rice University Entrance #8 University and Stockton, 77005
Houston
06 April , Friday 19:00

More Events Nearby

 15 June , Friday
 Minute Maid Park, Houston
 23 June , Saturday
 Houston City Hall, Houston
 27 May , Sunday
 Houston Toyota Center, Houston
 26 May , Saturday
 NRG Park, Houston
 02 June , Saturday
 NRG Park, Houston
 02 June , Saturday
 BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston
 09 June , Saturday
 Houston Toyota Center, Houston
 15 June , Friday
 Revention Music Center, Houston
 10 June , Sunday
 Houston Toyota Center, Houston
 30 May , Wednesday
 House of Blues Houston, Houston
 14 June , Thursday
 Revention Music Center, Houston
 01 June , Friday
 Walter's Downtown, Houston
 23 June , Saturday
 Revention Music Center, Houston
 10 June , Sunday
 Houston Toyota Center, Houston
 09 June , Saturday
 Revention Music Center, Houston
 02 June , Saturday
 George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston
 05 June , Tuesday
 Revention Music Center, Houston
 26 May , Saturday
 Spire Houston, Houston
 02 June , Saturday
 White Oak Music Hall, Houston
 09 June , Saturday
 BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston
 02 June , Saturday
 House of Blues Houston, Houston
 16 June , Saturday
 Stereo Live Houston, Houston
 15 June , Friday
 White Oak Music Hall, Houston
 16 June , Saturday
 Lucky's Pub, Houston
 02 June , Saturday
 Houston Toyota Center, Houston
 15 June , Friday
 Stereo Live Houston, Houston
 07 June , Thursday
 Houston Toyota Center, Houston
 28 May , Monday
 PTSD Foundation of America, Houston
 31 May , Thursday
 The Secret Group, Houston
 04 June , Monday
 Scout Bar, Houston
 03 June , Sunday
 Hilton Americas-Houston, Houston
 23 June , Saturday
 Stereo Live Houston, Houston
 14 June , Thursday
 White Oak Music Hall, Houston
 31 May , Thursday
 Gravity, Houston
 02 June , Saturday
 Stereo Live Houston, Houston
 29 May , Tuesday
 House of Blues Houston, Houston