Hookworms - 13.10.18

Hookworms - 13.10.18

Tickets on sale Friday 6th April from > http://bit.ly/2pG6W9i

Forget everything you know about Hookworms. Ok, maybe not everything; the urgency and
viscera both live and on record that led the Yorkshire-based five-piece to prominence across
two blistering full-length LPs - 2013’s Pearl Mystic and 2014

follow-up The Hum - remains.
However, as they return with their much-anticipated third record Microshift, the title of the
record connotates more than just the intended nod to the audio plug-in their vocalist MJ
regularly uses; it could also be an understatement of a three-year narrative that’s brought
about changing circumstances, influences and subsequent evolution.

Microshift is a record that largely pulls back the dense fug of guitars and Modern Lovers-
esque blasts of organ that have become Hookworms’ hallmark, replaced instead by a
plethora of electronics and synthesizers. New variants on their use of motorik sees drummer
JN working around drum machines on many of the tracks, while an increased focus on
melody is most notable in MJ’s vocal delivery, now shorn of the Space Echo that drenched it
previously. “After eight years of being a band we couldn’t just make another psych rock
record” says the group’s MB.

▼ Show More

15 Nelson Street, BS1 2JY
Bristol
13 October , Saturday 06:00

More Events Nearby

 03 November , Saturday
 The Fleece Bristol, Bristol
 14 November , Wednesday
 SWX Bristol, Bristol
 16 October , Tuesday
 Fiddlers Bristol, Bristol
 23 October , Tuesday
 Bristol Hippodrome, Bristol
 24 October , Wednesday
 Fiddlers Bristol, Bristol
 16 October , Tuesday
 Bristol Hippodrome, Bristol
 24 October , Wednesday
 The Marble Factory, Bristol
 27 October , Saturday
 The Whitchurch, Bristol
 05 November , Monday
 Old Down Estate Weddings & Events, Bristol
 21 October , Sunday
 Knowle Golf Club Juniors, Bristol
 25 October , Thursday
 Bristol Hippodrome, Bristol
 09 November , Friday
 King William IV - The Billy Warmley, Bristol
 26 October , Friday
 New Stockwood Community Association, Bristol