Green Mohair Suits

Green Mohair Suits

GREEN MOHAIR SUITS are Brian Campeau, Jason Mannell, Richard Cuthbert and Ben Romalis.

A quartet of expressive songwriters that take their four-part harmonising as seriously as they take their dedication to a drunken good time, Brian Campeau, Richie Cuthbert (Cuthbert & The Nightwalkers), Jason Mannell

and Ben Romalis (Silamor) have no choice but to shift what began as a side project up several gears. Having started as a way to hang out, enjoy a few drinks and stretch their obvious skills at smaller unrehearsed gigs, things have snowballed thanks to a reputation for inspired showmanship and performances as brash as they’re emotive.

The Green Mohair Suits are about much more than delivering new takes on old sounds. Their inspired musicianship has seen them compile a collection of quality original tunes – a solid mix of heartbreak and hangover, humour and humility – that are crying out to entertain a broader audience. Occupying a broad musical landscape between influences like Beck, Fleet Foxes, Hank Williams, Tom Waits, Portishead & Gram Parsons, Campeau labels their music “Garage-grass”, adding fans should “expect sad songs and waltzes.” He forgets to add that they should also prepare themselves for a harmonious blur of booze-soaked good times, mixed with schooner-loads of emotion and energy. “See us because we’re super hot and our harmonies are like having an orgasm on a mountain top,” Campeau declares. “The vibe onstage is always great – we focus much more on having a good time than being perfectionists.”

▼ Show More

195 Mouat Street, Lyneham, 2602
Canberra
08 April , Sunday 16:00

More Events Nearby

 01 June , Friday
 Academy Club, Canberra
 16 June , Saturday
 Exhibition Park in Canberra, Canberra
 19 June , Tuesday
 Canberra Theatre Centre, Canberra
 09 June , Saturday
 ICW: Canberra, Canberra
 10 June , Sunday
 Smith's Alternative, Canberra
 07 June , Thursday
 Polish White Eagle Club, Canberra
 27 May , Sunday
 The Abbey, Canberra
 29 May , Tuesday
 Canberra Theatre Centre, Canberra
 09 June , Saturday
 Canberra Southern Cross Club, Canberra
 25 June , Monday
 Canberra Theatre Centre, Canberra
 12 June , Tuesday
 Canberra Environment Centre, Canberra
 08 June , Friday
 Smith's Alternative, Canberra
 02 June , Saturday
 Canberra Theatre Centre, Canberra
 23 June , Saturday
 Llewellyn Hall ANU, Canberra
 16 June , Saturday
 Balanced Yoga, Canberra
 10 June , Sunday
 Canberra Theatre Centre, Canberra
 23 June , Saturday
 Canberra Theatre Centre, Canberra
 15 June , Friday
 Hellenic Club of Canberra, Canberra
 21 June , Thursday
 Canberra Environment Centre, Canberra
 31 May , Thursday
 Canberra Environment Centre, Canberra
 16 June , Saturday
 Harmonie German Club, Canberra
 10 June , Sunday
 Old Bus Depot Markets, Canberra
 16 June , Saturday
 ANU School of Music, Canberra
 20 June , Wednesday
 Novotel Canberra, Canberra
 06 June , Wednesday
 Australian Institute of Sport, Canberra
 07 June , Thursday
 Canberra Southern Cross Club, Canberra
 08 June , Friday
 Canberra Museum and Gallery, Canberra
 29 May , Tuesday
 Arc Cinema, Canberra
 14 June , Thursday
 Canberra Museum and Gallery, Canberra
 23 June , Saturday
 Marble and Grain, Canberra
 16 June , Saturday
 Canberra Theatre Centre, Canberra
 28 May , Monday
 Canberra, Australia, Canberra
 16 June , Saturday
 Dendy Cinemas Canberra, Canberra
 12 June , Tuesday
 NatureArt Lab, Canberra
 07 June , Thursday
 Canberra Southern Cross Club, Canberra
 10 June , Sunday
 Canberra Theatre Centre, Canberra