Fatih Akin Summer Cinema: The Sound of Istanbul

Fatih Akin Summer Cinema: The Sound of Istanbul

Director: Fatih Akin, Farbe, 91 Min., 2005, With English subtitles

Documentary film about Istanbul's music scene.
Alexander Hacke, bassist of "Einstürzende Neubauten", and director Fatih Akin go to the streets of Istanbul well equipped with microphone and camera to capture the sound there. The journey

begins at the Bogazici Körprüsü, the famous Bosporus Bridge; it leads them through the crowd of the streets to the rapper Ceza, to Orhan Gencebay, the master of the Saz, and to the Diva Sezen Aksu. They also meet street musicians and the Kurdish singer Aynur.
A musical portrait of a pulsating city where orient and occident seem to merge.

▼ Show More

150 N Michigan Ave Ste 200, 60601
Chicago
19 July , Thursday 18:00

More Events Nearby

 10 August , Friday
 Soldier Field, Chicago
 28 July , Saturday
 Soilder Field, Chicago
 20 July , Friday
 , Chicago
 20 July , Friday
 Chicago, Illinois, Vereinigte Staaten, Chicago
 13 August , Monday
 Thalia Hall, Chicago
 21 July , Saturday
 Copernicus Center, Chicago
 27 July , Friday
 Hilton Chicago Hotel, Chicago
 28 July , Saturday
 The Chicago Theatre, Chicago
 27 July , Friday
 Humboldt Park, Chicago
 30 July , Monday
 Thalia Hall, Chicago
 09 August , Thursday
 The Empty Bottle, Chicago
 28 July , Saturday
 Wicker Park Fest, Chicago
 08 August , Wednesday
 Jay Pritzker Pavilion, Chicago
 10 August , Friday
 Holy Resurrection Serbian Orthodox Cathedral, Chicago
 21 July , Saturday
 Carl Schurz High School Alumni Association, Chicago
 02 August , Thursday
 Institute of Christ the King Sovereign Priest, Chicago
 14 August , Tuesday
 Chicago, Illinois, Vereinigte Staaten, Chicago
 12 August , Sunday
 House of Blues Chicago, Chicago
 16 August , Thursday
 Road Runner Travel, Chicago
 23 July , Monday
 Facets, Chicago
 28 July , Saturday
 Road Runner Travel, Chicago
 30 July , Monday
 Facets, Chicago
 19 July , Thursday
 Goethe-Institut Chicago, Chicago
 02 August , Thursday
 Goethe-Institut Chicago, Chicago