Fatih Akin Summer Cinema : The Cut

Fatih Akin Summer Cinema : The Cut

Director: Fatih Akin, color, 135 min., 2013/14, with English subtitles

1915: In the town of Mardin, the blacksmith Nazaret Manogian lived a content life with his wife and twin daughters before being arrested by the Turkish police - just like the other Christians of Armenian origin. Separated from his

family, he has to work as a forced laborer in the desert. He survives an execution squad and flees. Deserters help him along; he meets his dying sister-in-law in a camp, finds shelter and work in Aleppo with a Syrian soap manufacturer and also experiences the end of World War I there. Nazaret hears that his daughters have survived the Turkish genocide of the Armenians; his search leads him to Lebanon, Cuba and the USA. At least one of them survived. With The Cut, Fatih Akin has succeeded in creating a great but also controversial epic.

▼ Show More

150 N Michigan Ave Ste 200, 60601
Chicago
02 August , Thursday 18:00

More Events Nearby

 10 August , Friday
 Soldier Field, Chicago
 28 July , Saturday
 Soilder Field, Chicago
 20 July , Friday
 , Chicago
 20 July , Friday
 Chicago, Illinois, Vereinigte Staaten, Chicago
 13 August , Monday
 Thalia Hall, Chicago
 21 July , Saturday
 Copernicus Center, Chicago
 27 July , Friday
 Hilton Chicago Hotel, Chicago
 28 July , Saturday
 The Chicago Theatre, Chicago
 27 July , Friday
 Humboldt Park, Chicago
 30 July , Monday
 Thalia Hall, Chicago
 09 August , Thursday
 The Empty Bottle, Chicago
 28 July , Saturday
 Wicker Park Fest, Chicago
 08 August , Wednesday
 Jay Pritzker Pavilion, Chicago
 10 August , Friday
 Holy Resurrection Serbian Orthodox Cathedral, Chicago
 21 July , Saturday
 Carl Schurz High School Alumni Association, Chicago
 02 August , Thursday
 Institute of Christ the King Sovereign Priest, Chicago
 14 August , Tuesday
 Chicago, Illinois, Vereinigte Staaten, Chicago
 12 August , Sunday
 House of Blues Chicago, Chicago
 16 August , Thursday
 Road Runner Travel, Chicago
 23 July , Monday
 Facets, Chicago
 28 July , Saturday
 Road Runner Travel, Chicago
 30 July , Monday
 Facets, Chicago
 19 July , Thursday
 Goethe-Institut Chicago, Chicago
 02 August , Thursday
 Goethe-Institut Chicago, Chicago