Fatih Akin Summer Cinema : The Cut

Fatih Akin Summer Cinema : The Cut

Director: Fatih Akin, color, 135 min., 2013/14, with English subtitles

1915: In the town of Mardin, the blacksmith Nazaret Manogian lived a content life with his wife and twin daughters before being arrested by the Turkish police - just like the other Christians of Armenian origin. Separated from his

family, he has to work as a forced laborer in the desert. He survives an execution squad and flees. Deserters help him along; he meets his dying sister-in-law in a camp, finds shelter and work in Aleppo with a Syrian soap manufacturer and also experiences the end of World War I there. Nazaret hears that his daughters have survived the Turkish genocide of the Armenians; his search leads him to Lebanon, Cuba and the USA. At least one of them survived. With The Cut, Fatih Akin has succeeded in creating a great but also controversial epic.

▼ Show More

150 N Michigan Ave Ste 200, 60601
Chicago
02 August , Thursday 18:00

More Events Nearby

 24 September , Monday
 Official Aragon Ballroom, Chicago
 14 October , Sunday
 Diversey Harbor, Chicago
 22 September , Saturday
 The Chicago Theatre, Chicago
 28 September , Friday
 Reggie's, Chicago
 23 September , Sunday
 Lincoln Park Conservatory, Chicago
 10 October , Wednesday
 Thalia Hall, Chicago
 07 October , Sunday
 Arabesque Dance Studios - Award-Winning Belly Dance!, Chicago
 03 October , Wednesday
 Beat Kitchen, Chicago
 11 October , Thursday
 2112 Chicago, Chicago
 22 September , Saturday
 American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA), Chicago
 29 September , Saturday
 Lakeview Baseball Club - All-Inclusive Wrigley Field Rooftop, Chicago
 20 September , Thursday
 University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago
 05 October , Friday
 Blue Lotus Thai Healing Studies, Chicago
 21 September , Friday
 Guaranteed Rate Field, Chicago
 21 September , Friday
 TGIF Dance Parties, Chicago
 24 September , Monday
 Irish American Heritage Center, Chicago
 25 September , Tuesday
 Advantage International, Chicago
 21 September , Friday
 Chicago, Illinois, Vereinigte Staaten, Chicago
 24 September , Monday
 Lakeview Baseball Club - All-Inclusive Wrigley Field Rooftop, Chicago
 25 September , Tuesday
 Chicago, Illinois, Vereinigte Staaten, Chicago
 07 October , Sunday
 Chicago, Illinois, Vereinigte Staaten, Chicago