Ellis Island / The New World

Ellis Island / The New World

Experience Dvorak’s masterful Ninth Symphony in a concert celebrating the journey to the New World. First, our nation’s immigrant heritage is brought to vivid life in Ellis Island: The Dream of America, an ambitious new work which blends theatre, narration, historical images, and music to portray immigrants

in search of the American dream. Next, celebrated pianist Anne-Marie McDermott plays Gershwin’s uniquely American, jazz-infused Concerto in F. Finally, Dvorak’s famed “New World” Symphony features the evocative sounds of his own American journey.

Tickets: Single tickets are $15-$68 and will be available through Des Moines Performing Arts beginning August 1. Please note single ticket prices are subject to a $5 increase on the day of the concert, excluding student rush tickets.

Student tickets are $7.50-$33 and are available through the Civic Center Ticket Office. Student rush tickets, subject to availability, are $5 for junior high and high school students and $10 for all other students the day of the concert through the Civic Center Ticket Office. One ticket sold per valid Student ID.

The duration of these concerts is approximately two hours and ten minutes, which includes a 20-minute intermission.

The Des Moines Symphony welcomes children five years and older to attend performances. Children of any age are welcome to attend youth and family concerts. All children, regardless of age, must have their own ticket to attend performances.

LEARN MORE: Concert Prelude Talks begin 45 minutes prior to each Masterworks concert in the Prairie Meadows (East) Lobby.

Peter BOYER Suite from Ellis Island: The Dream of America
GERSHWIN Concerto in F
DVORAK Symphony No. 9 “From the New World”

Joseph Giunta, conducting
Anne-Marie McDermott, piano

PRESENTING SPONSOR: The Symphony's Healthcare Circle

▼ Show More

Des Moines Civic Center, 221 Walnut St, 50309
Des Moines
16 March , Saturday 19:30