Do no harm. But first, “nature.”

Do no harm. But first, “nature.”

Who?
Britt Hermes

What's the talk about?

Naturopaths have defined their brand of medicine using a set of “healing” principles that sound pleasant, but really describe an archaic and sometimes twisted understanding of medicine. Having been a former naturopathic “doctor,” I can say that the overwhelming

majority of naturopathic care relies extensively on dubious alternative therapies, rather than established protocols based on medical and scientific research. When it comes to naturopathy, “nature” always trumps the oath to do no harm. Join former naturopathic doctor Britt Hermes for a deconstruction of naturopathy’s defining principles and what to do about the growing trend of natural medicine.

Britt Hermes is a writer, scientist, and a former naturopathic doctor. She practiced as a licensed naturopath in the United States for three years and then left the profession after realizing naturopathy is a pseudoscientific ideology. Since this time, Britt has been working to understand and communicate how she was tricked by alternative medicine, so others do not repeat her mistake. She now writes to expose issues with naturopathy, the current rising profession in alternative medicine. Her work focuses on the deceptions naturopathic practitioners employ to scam patients and contrive legitimacy in political arenas. Britt’s writings can be found at Forbes, Science 2.0, KevinMD, and Science-Based Medicine. She hopes her stories will protect patients from the false beliefs and bogus treatments sold by alternative medicine practitioners.

▼ Show More

Star & Garter Pub, 60 Old Woolwich Road, Greenwich, SE10 9NY
London
07 November , Wednesday 19:30

More Events Nearby

 15 December , Saturday
 Eventim Apollo, London
 14 December , Friday
 Lee Valley VeloPark, London
 24 November , Saturday
 O2 Forum Kentish Town, London
 05 December , Wednesday
 Electric Ballroom, London
 30 November , Friday
 The Underworld Camden, London
 27 November , Tuesday
 Scala, London
 07 December , Friday
 Lock 17 & Dingwalls, London
 23 November , Friday
 Union Chapel, London
 29 November , Thursday
 The Underworld Camden, London
 24 November , Saturday
 Royal Festival Hall, London
 20 December , Thursday
 O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, London
 26 November , Monday
 London One Radio, London
 05 December , Wednesday
 The Wednesday Club, London
 30 November , Friday
 The Taproom, London
 29 November , Thursday
 Union Chapel, London
 25 November , Sunday
 Tranquility Pilates Centre, London
 12 December , Wednesday
 The Wednesday Club, London
 04 December , Tuesday
 Royal Ocean Racing Club, London
 15 December , Saturday
 Translate Cafe Bar, London
 16 December , Sunday
 Shaw Theatre, London
 30 November , Friday
 O2 Forum Kentish Town, London
 25 November , Sunday
 The Goodlife Centre, London
 16 December , Sunday
 Shaw Theatre, London
 24 November , Saturday
 Slimelight (Official), London
 03 December , Monday
 Magical Baby Moments, London
 16 December , Sunday
 Methodist Central Hall Westminster, London
 12 December , Wednesday
 Scala, London
 13 December , Thursday
 Cargo Works, London
 20 December , Thursday
 Shaw Theatre, London
 08 December , Saturday
 SHINBOKU, London
 17 December , Monday
 London Stock Exchange, London
 24 November , Saturday
 O2 Academy Islington, London
 22 November , Thursday
 London Transport Museum, London
 09 December , Sunday
 O2 Academy Islington, London