Craig Haarmeyer, St. Rey Vineyards

Craig Haarmeyer, St. Rey Vineyards

California winemaker Craig Haarmeyer is here pouring his terroir-driven wines from Sacramento. (That’s right, Sacramento.) Meet him and taste some of the cool wines he’s making: Chenin Blanc Pet-Nat, a still Chenin Blanc, a skin contact Wirz Riesling, and his Mokulumne Syrah.

Craig Haarmeyer studied

art at the San Francisco Art Institute. His father developed the Old Sacramento historic district, and his mother ran restaurants. Craig followed his fiancee back to Sacramento. Shortly thereafter family friends fortuitously introduced him to Charlie Meyers, whose Harbor Winery was one of the capital’s only urban wineries after Prohibition. As a winemaker, Meyers was known for his light touch and fairly natural approach. Craig was lucky to learn how to make wine from him. Meanwhile he took IT jobs as his main gig and continued to paint.

In 2007, a childhood friend hatched a plan to open Revolution Wines in downtown Sacramento and he asked Craig to help. Fast Forward two years, Craig is the winemaker and he decides to make wine only from the region’s vineyards: Chenin Blanc from Clarksburg, Sauvignon Blanc from Yolo, Zinfandel from Lodi and the foothills.

Now, a bit more than a decade later, Craig is in full stride making natural wine from Sacramento terroir that’ll blow your mind, that will change your idea about what wines from California can taste like.

▼ Show More

11 Greene Avenue, 11238
Brooklyn
01 March , Thursday 18:00

More Events Nearby

 30 June , Saturday
 Brooklyn Bazaar, Brooklyn
 07 July , Saturday
 Output, Brooklyn
 12 July , Thursday
 The Green-Wood Cemetery, Brooklyn
 07 July , Saturday
 Saint Vitus Bar, Brooklyn
 27 June , Wednesday
 Barclays Center, Brooklyn
 13 July , Friday
 El Cortez, Brooklyn
 03 July , Tuesday
 Saint Vitus Bar, Brooklyn
 19 July , Thursday
 Zone One at Elsewhere, Brooklyn
 28 June , Thursday
 Brooklyn Bazaar, Brooklyn
 12 July , Thursday
 Baby's All Right, Brooklyn
 24 June , Sunday
 Knitting Factory Brooklyn, Brooklyn
 29 June , Friday
 Warsaw Concerts, Brooklyn
 30 June , Saturday
 Knitting Factory Brooklyn, Brooklyn
 30 June , Saturday
 Gold Sounds, Brooklyn
 29 June , Friday
 Gold Sounds, Brooklyn
 14 July , Saturday
 El Cortez, Brooklyn
 24 June , Sunday
 Zone One at Elsewhere, Brooklyn
 24 June , Sunday
 Rough Trade NYC, Brooklyn
 14 July , Saturday
 Knitting Factory Brooklyn, Brooklyn
 12 July , Thursday
 Green-Wood Cemetery, Brooklyn
 07 July , Saturday
 Zone One at Elsewhere, Brooklyn
 13 July , Friday
 Slow Food USA, Brooklyn
 22 July , Sunday
 Pioneer Books, Brooklyn
 14 July , Saturday
 Aviator Sports and Events Center, Brooklyn
 01 July , Sunday
 Zone One at Elsewhere, Brooklyn
 07 July , Saturday
 The Grand Prospect Hall, Brooklyn
 27 June , Wednesday
 RAW Artists Brooklyn, Brooklyn
 27 June , Wednesday
 Brooklyn Bazaar, Brooklyn
 05 July , Thursday
 Brooklyn Steel, Brooklyn
 30 June , Saturday
 Elsewhere, Brooklyn
 29 June , Friday
 Knitting Factory Brooklyn, Brooklyn
 02 July , Monday
 MAS Youth Center, Brooklyn
 27 June , Wednesday
 Zone One at Elsewhere, Brooklyn
 09 July , Monday
 Lighthouse Yoga School, Brooklyn
 06 July , Friday
 The Well, Brooklyn
 18 July , Wednesday
 Pioneer Works, Brooklyn