Comfort Society Presents a Death Café by Lauren Gil

Comfort Society Presents a Death Café by Lauren Gil

Please join Comfort Society and speaker Lauren Gil on July 15th for a Death Café at Comfort Station! We'll participate in a community event to get to know one another and to stretch into our own understandings of our values on living and dying in a comfortable and safe atmosphere. After the event, Lauren

will share collected and historical wisdom gifted from the dying from her research on therapies at end-of-life.

What's a Death Café? A Death Café is a group-directed discussion over coffee, tea, and cake. The objective is to practice the art of talking openly about our own mortality so as to make the most of our finite lives. Anyone of any age, background, spiritual belief (or lack thereof!) is welcome to attend as the results are enriched by the variety of participants. Let's break the taboo, together!

Who's Lauren Gil? Lauren Gil is a clinical social worker (AM, University of Chicago), trained death doula, community-taught herbalist, lay Borikén historian, semi-professional baker, and end-of-life scholar. Her mission is to provide thoughtful and holistic care to the dying and the ones they love. (Psst: that's all of us)

Comfort Society is a summer series hosted every Sunday at 1pm during the Logan Square Farmers Market. Special thanks to our sponsor, Intelligentsia.

▼ Show More

2579 N Milwaukee Ave, 60647
Chicago
15 July , Sunday 13:00

More Events Nearby

 10 August , Friday
 Soldier Field, Chicago
 28 July , Saturday
 Soilder Field, Chicago
 20 July , Friday
 , Chicago
 20 July , Friday
 Chicago, Illinois, Vereinigte Staaten, Chicago
 13 August , Monday
 Thalia Hall, Chicago
 21 July , Saturday
 Copernicus Center, Chicago
 27 July , Friday
 Hilton Chicago Hotel, Chicago
 28 July , Saturday
 The Chicago Theatre, Chicago
 27 July , Friday
 Humboldt Park, Chicago
 30 July , Monday
 Thalia Hall, Chicago
 09 August , Thursday
 The Empty Bottle, Chicago
 28 July , Saturday
 Wicker Park Fest, Chicago
 08 August , Wednesday
 Jay Pritzker Pavilion, Chicago
 10 August , Friday
 Holy Resurrection Serbian Orthodox Cathedral, Chicago
 21 July , Saturday
 Carl Schurz High School Alumni Association, Chicago
 02 August , Thursday
 Institute of Christ the King Sovereign Priest, Chicago
 14 August , Tuesday
 Chicago, Illinois, Vereinigte Staaten, Chicago
 12 August , Sunday
 House of Blues Chicago, Chicago
 16 August , Thursday
 Road Runner Travel, Chicago
 23 July , Monday
 Facets, Chicago
 28 July , Saturday
 Road Runner Travel, Chicago
 30 July , Monday
 Facets, Chicago
 19 July , Thursday
 Goethe-Institut Chicago, Chicago
 02 August , Thursday
 Goethe-Institut Chicago, Chicago