Comfort Society Presents a Death Café by Lauren Gil

Comfort Society Presents a Death Café by Lauren Gil

Please join Comfort Society and speaker Lauren Gil on July 15th for a Death Café at Comfort Station! We'll participate in a community event to get to know one another and to stretch into our own understandings of our values on living and dying in a comfortable and safe atmosphere. After the event, Lauren

will share collected and historical wisdom gifted from the dying from her research on therapies at end-of-life.

What's a Death Café? A Death Café is a group-directed discussion over coffee, tea, and cake. The objective is to practice the art of talking openly about our own mortality so as to make the most of our finite lives. Anyone of any age, background, spiritual belief (or lack thereof!) is welcome to attend as the results are enriched by the variety of participants. Let's break the taboo, together!

Who's Lauren Gil? Lauren Gil is a clinical social worker (AM, University of Chicago), trained death doula, community-taught herbalist, lay Borikén historian, semi-professional baker, and end-of-life scholar. Her mission is to provide thoughtful and holistic care to the dying and the ones they love. (Psst: that's all of us)

Comfort Society is a summer series hosted every Sunday at 1pm during the Logan Square Farmers Market. Special thanks to our sponsor, Intelligentsia.

▼ Show More

2579 N Milwaukee Ave, 60647
Chicago
15 July , Sunday 13:00

More Events Nearby

 24 September , Monday
 Official Aragon Ballroom, Chicago
 14 October , Sunday
 Diversey Harbor, Chicago
 22 September , Saturday
 The Chicago Theatre, Chicago
 28 September , Friday
 Reggie's, Chicago
 23 September , Sunday
 Lincoln Park Conservatory, Chicago
 10 October , Wednesday
 Thalia Hall, Chicago
 07 October , Sunday
 Arabesque Dance Studios - Award-Winning Belly Dance!, Chicago
 03 October , Wednesday
 Beat Kitchen, Chicago
 11 October , Thursday
 2112 Chicago, Chicago
 22 September , Saturday
 American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA), Chicago
 29 September , Saturday
 Lakeview Baseball Club - All-Inclusive Wrigley Field Rooftop, Chicago
 20 September , Thursday
 University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago
 05 October , Friday
 Blue Lotus Thai Healing Studies, Chicago
 21 September , Friday
 Guaranteed Rate Field, Chicago
 21 September , Friday
 TGIF Dance Parties, Chicago
 24 September , Monday
 Irish American Heritage Center, Chicago
 25 September , Tuesday
 Advantage International, Chicago
 21 September , Friday
 Chicago, Illinois, Vereinigte Staaten, Chicago
 24 September , Monday
 Lakeview Baseball Club - All-Inclusive Wrigley Field Rooftop, Chicago
 25 September , Tuesday
 Chicago, Illinois, Vereinigte Staaten, Chicago
 07 October , Sunday
 Chicago, Illinois, Vereinigte Staaten, Chicago