Awate at Exchange, Bristol

Awate at Exchange, Bristol

BamBamBam present

AWATE
+ support

On sale NOW

AWATE is a rapper and producer from Maiden Lane Estate in Camden. Honing his craft from the age of 12, he made a name for himself at the legendary hip-hop spot, Deal Real at the age of 15. Awate learned from mentors such as Poisonous Poets rappers, Stylah

and Lowkey, BBC 1Xtra's DJ Semtex and one of his heroes, Yasiin Bey.

As a refugee from Eritrea via Saudi Arabia, Awate's lyrics are a complex train of thought on subjects like self-esteem, racism, pride and class.

Building a reputation as an electrifying and engaging live performer, Awate has toured worldwide with Lowkey since 2010 and has supported the likes of Jay Electronica, Ghetts, Big Daddy Kane, and Blackstar (Mos Def & Talib Kweli).

He has also headlined and performed regularly at The Roundhouse as a Resident Artist at the iconic venue.

Awate's long awaited first release, 2016's Shine Ancient EP was premiered on Complex with features on Noisey, Huck, AFROPUNK, OkayAfrica and premiere's on BBC 6 Music with Gilles Peterson, Jamie Kennedy on Radio X as well as support from DJ MK and Shortee Blitz on KISS.

2018 will see the release of Awate's debut LP, Happiness.

▼ Show More

72 - 73 Old Market, BS2 0EJ
Bristol
23 May , Wednesday 19:30

More Events Nearby

 30 July , Monday
 Bristol Hippodrome, Bristol
 04 August , Saturday
 The Fleece Bristol, Bristol
 20 July , Friday
 The Fleece Bristol, Bristol
 28 July , Saturday
 SWX Bristol, Bristol
 13 August , Monday
 Thekla Bristol, Bristol
 21 July , Saturday
 Bristol Flea Market, Bristol
 28 July , Saturday
 The Tunnels Bristol, Bristol
 03 August , Friday
 Fiddlers Bristol, Bristol
 28 July , Saturday
 Hamilton House, Bristol
 11 August , Saturday
 The George, Bristol
 19 July , Thursday
 St George's Church, Brandon Hill, Bristol
 07 August , Tuesday
 The Park Centre - Kingswood, Bristol
 11 August , Saturday
 CAFÉ RONAK, Bristol
 15 August , Wednesday
 Bristol Bierkeller, Bristol