7th Summer School: Introduction to Survey Design

7th Summer School: Introduction to Survey Design

This course gives an overview of the design and implementation of surveys from the initial planning phase to the data preparation as a final step. Topics include survey mode assessment and selection, sampling frames and designs, nonresponse, interviewer effects, questionnaire design, cognitive pretesting,

assessing measurement errors and data editing. The course is taught from a Total Survey Error perspective weighing up data quality at each step of the process against associated costs.

The course is taught through formal lectures in which the theoretical foundation in the literature is discussed, less formal presentations and discussions of survey design in existing survey research as well as personal tutorial meetings that give participants the opportunity to discuss exercises and their own survey designs. Each day will discuss a specific topic that each focuses on one or more aspects of survey design within the Total Survey Error framework. First, the choice for the survey mode is discussed, and how different ways to sample respondents follow from that choice. On the second day the issue of survey nonresponse is treated. How to prevent, analyse and correct for it. On the third and fourth day the actual survey content is discussed. How to write survey questions, make sure they measure what they are intended to measure, test them, and finally, how to assess whether survey data are of good quality. On the final day we focus on data coding and maximizing quality. We conclude with an overview perspective of all survey errors and their interaction with survey costs.

The course will be applicable to surveys of individuals, households and organizations in different survey modes: mail, face-to-face, web and paper-and-pencil surveys.

▼ Show More

Unter Sachsenhausen 6-8, 50667
Cologne
06 August , Monday 09:00

More Events Nearby

 10 October , Wednesday
 Kulturkirche Köln, Cologne
 15 October , Monday
 Gebäude 9, Cologne
 06 October , Saturday
 LANXESS arena, Cologne
 06 October , Saturday
 Live Music Hall, Cologne
 14 October , Sunday
 GLORIA THEATER, Cologne
 29 September , Saturday
 Theater am Tanzbrunnen, Cologne
 07 October , Sunday
 Bogen 2, Cologne
 15 October , Monday
 Live Music Hall, Cologne
 14 October , Sunday
 Die Kantine - Yard Club, Cologne
 03 October , Wednesday
 Kölner Renn-Verein 1897 e.V., Cologne
 19 October , Friday
 KD Partyschiff, Cologne
 28 September , Friday
 Live Music Hall, Cologne
 01 October , Monday
 Gebäude 9, Cologne
 20 October , Saturday
 KD-Event & Flusskreuzfahrten-Köln, Cologne
 26 September , Wednesday
 die wohngemeinschaft, Cologne
 17 October , Wednesday
 Die Kantine - Yard Club, Cologne
 27 September , Thursday
 Wahn.Witzig im Eltzhof, Cologne
 11 October , Thursday
 Wahn.Witzig im Eltzhof, Cologne
 23 September , Sunday
 Käthe Kollwitz Museum Köln, Cologne
 06 October , Saturday
 Jot Jelunge - Dekoration & Kostüm, Cologne
 17 October , Wednesday
 Brunosaal, Cologne
 25 September , Tuesday
 COMEDIA Theater Köln, Cologne
 27 September , Thursday
 Brunosaal, Cologne
 09 October , Tuesday
 STARTPLATZ, Cologne
 12 October , Friday
 TH Köln, Cologne
 18 October , Thursday
 Brunosaal, Cologne
 29 September , Saturday
 DPSG Stamm Hohenstaufen, Cologne
 23 September , Sunday
 Senftöpfchen Theater, Cologne