7th Summer School: Applied Multiple Imputation

7th Summer School: Applied Multiple Imputation

Missing data are a pervasive problem in the social sciences. Data for a given unit may be missing entirely, for example, because a sampled respondent refused to participate in a survey (survey nonresponse). Alternatively, information may be missing only for a subset of variables (item nonresponse), for

example, because a respondent refused to answer some of the questions in a survey. The traditional way of dealing with item nonresponse, referred to as “complete case analysis” (CCA) or “listwise deletion”, excludes every observation with missing information from the analysis. While easy to implement, complete case analysis is wasteful and can lead to biased estimates. Multiple imputation (MI) seeks to address these issues and provides more efficient and unbiased estimates when certain conditions are met. Therefore, it is increasingly replacing CCA as the method of choice for dealing with item nonresponse in applied quantitative work in the social sciences.
The goals of the course are to introduce participants to the basic concepts and statistical foundations of missing data analysis and MI, and to enable them to use MI in their own work. The course puts heavy emphasis on the practical application of MI and on the complex decisions and challenges that researchers are facing in its course. The focus is on MI using iterated chained equations (aka “fully conditional specification”) and its implementation in the software package Stata. Participants should have a good working knowledge of Stata to follow the applied parts of the course and to successfully master the exercises. Participants who are not familiar with Stata may still benefit from the course, but will likely find the exercises quite challenging.

▼ Show More

Unter Sachsenhausen 6-8, 50667
Cologne
06 August , Monday 09:00

More Events Nearby

 10 October , Wednesday
 Kulturkirche Köln, Cologne
 15 October , Monday
 Gebäude 9, Cologne
 06 October , Saturday
 LANXESS arena, Cologne
 06 October , Saturday
 Live Music Hall, Cologne
 22 September , Saturday
 Jungle Club, Cologne
 14 October , Sunday
 GLORIA THEATER, Cologne
 29 September , Saturday
 Theater am Tanzbrunnen, Cologne
 07 October , Sunday
 Bogen 2, Cologne
 15 October , Monday
 Live Music Hall, Cologne
 14 October , Sunday
 Die Kantine - Yard Club, Cologne
 03 October , Wednesday
 Kölner Renn-Verein 1897 e.V., Cologne
 19 October , Friday
 KD Partyschiff, Cologne
 21 September , Friday
 Caritas-Altenzentrum St. Maternus, Cologne
 28 September , Friday
 Live Music Hall, Cologne
 22 September , Saturday
 Gaffel am Dom, Cologne
 01 October , Monday
 Gebäude 9, Cologne
 26 September , Wednesday
 die wohngemeinschaft, Cologne
 22 September , Saturday
 KD-Event & Flusskreuzfahrten-Köln, Cologne
 21 September , Friday
 Essigfabrik, Cologne
 17 October , Wednesday
 Die Kantine - Yard Club, Cologne
 22 September , Saturday
 COMEDIA Theater Köln, Cologne
 27 September , Thursday
 Wahn.Witzig im Eltzhof, Cologne
 11 October , Thursday
 Wahn.Witzig im Eltzhof, Cologne
 22 September , Saturday
 Königin-Luise-Schule, Cologne
 23 September , Sunday
 Käthe Kollwitz Museum Köln, Cologne
 06 October , Saturday
 Jot Jelunge - Dekoration & Kostüm, Cologne
 17 October , Wednesday
 Brunosaal, Cologne
 25 September , Tuesday
 COMEDIA Theater Köln, Cologne
 27 September , Thursday
 Brunosaal, Cologne
 09 October , Tuesday
 STARTPLATZ, Cologne
 12 October , Friday
 TH Köln, Cologne
 18 October , Thursday
 Brunosaal, Cologne
 22 September , Saturday
 STATION 2B COLOGNE, Cologne
 29 September , Saturday
 DPSG Stamm Hohenstaufen, Cologne
 23 September , Sunday
 Senftöpfchen Theater, Cologne